Some segments of Love Poems from Ancient Egypt

“My arms spread out to embrace her; my heart bounds in its place, like the red fish in its pond. O night, be mine forever, now that my queen has come!” [1]

“The wild goose soars and swoops, it alights in the nets; many birds swarm about, I have work to do. I am held fast by my love, alone, my heart meets your heart, from your beauty I’ll not part.” [2]

“I shall not leave you, my hand is in your hand; you and I shall wander in all place fair.” [3]

Have a love-ly day!

 

[1] Lichtheim, Miriam. “Love Poems from the Cairo Vase 1266 + 25218 III. A Collection.” In Ancient Egyptian Literature: A Book of Readings, Vol. 2. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2006.
[2] Lichtheim, Miriam. “Love Poems from Papyrus Harris 500 II.b The Second Collection 3.” In Ancient Egyptian Literature: A Book of Readings, Vol. 2. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2006.
[3] Lichtheim, Miriam. “Love Poems from Papyrus Harris 500 II.b The Second Collection 6.” In Ancient Egyptian Literature: A Book of Readings, Vol. 2. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2006.

 

 

